Select Page

Our Board

Southern Rural Water has eight board members, including the Managing Director and seven non-executive directors.

The chairman and non-executive directors are appointed by the Minister for Water; the Managing Director is appointed by the board.

Our directors are:

Our Board

Ms Diane James AM


Diane James AM is a business consultant, leadership coach and company director. Her career includes establishing two start-up companies and serving on numerous State and National boards. She is also Chairman of Goulburn Murray Water and a former director of Barwon Water. Diane was a founding director of GenU, a national disability, ageing and lifestyle services organisation and was Chairman of the Victorian Coastal Council for 12 years. In recognition of her contribution to the environment and natural resource management, Diane was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2011. She is an accredited leadership coach, holds a Graduate Certificate in Innovation and Entrepreneurship and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She was appointed to the board on 1 October 2015.

Mr Terry Swingler

Deputy Chairman

Mr Swingler has vast experience in the water industry having held senior roles as Yarra Valley Water’s General Manager Finance and Company Secretary (1995-2012) and Corporate Secretary with Melbourne Water (1986-1995). He has also been a Director of Equipsuper Pty Ltd (2012-2016) and the Victorian Government’s nominated Director on the Joint Government Enterprise Ltd (trading as Water for Rivers) (2012- 2015). Mr Swingler has a Diploma of Business (Accounting) and is a Fellow of CPA Australia, Governance Institute of Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Swingler was appointed to the board on 1 October 2013.

Ms Naomi Cleary


Ms Cleary has extensive experience in the property sector. She is the former Chief Financial Officer of the Elmstone Property Group, and a current director of SANB Valhalla, a property investment vehicle. Ms Cleary is a director of Sport Climbing Australia. She holds a Bachelor of Business Studies and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Ms Cleary was appointed to the board on 1 October 2015.

Mr Angus Hume


Mr Hume holds qualifications in education and company directorship. He is Chairman of the Victorian Catchment Management Council, and formerly Co-chairman of the Gippsland Lakes Coordinating Committee and Chair of the West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority (WGCMA). Mr Hume has a strong understanding of natural resource management through his experience with dairy farming, with the Department of Primary Industries, and as a past CEO of WGCMA. He is also a past board member of the East Gippsland Catchment Management Authority and inaugural Chair of AFL Commission, Gippsland.

Ms Peta Maddy


Ms Maddy has a background in water engineering and management including her current role as an associate at the consulting firm Aither.  She is a past President of the Victorian branch of the Australian Water Association and comes to SRW from Grampians Wimmera Mallee Water where she was director for the past two years and chaired its Water Resources Committee. She has been chairing the interdepartmental reference group for the Victorian Rural Drainage Strategy and is currently a member of the Victorian Catchment Management Council. Ms Maddy has a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering, a Bachelor of Science (Pharmacology and Toxicology) and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Michael Malouf


Mr Malouf is the CEO of VicRoads, a director of Malouf Management Services Pty Ltd and is a Sessional Member at Planning Panels Victoria. He is also the chair of the Kardinia Park Stadium and is a director at Western Victoria Primary Health Network. During his career, he has held CEO positions at Melbourne, Geelong and Wyndham City Councils, was the CEO of the Carlton Football Club, held executive roles for Pratt Holdings and more recently was the Managing Director at Barwon Water. He has a Master of Business Administration, Bachelor of Civil Engineering and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, the Institution of Engineers and the IPAA. He was appointed to the board on 1 October 2015.

Mrs Naomi Pye


Mrs Pye is a dairy farmer at Bessiebelle. She is a director of the Gardiner Dairy Foundation (appointed 2016) and was a director of the Glenelg Hopkins Catchment Management Authority (2006 – 2011) and has previously held board and committee roles with the Victorian Farmers Federation (1999 – 2007), WestVic Dairy Project Steering Committee (2000 – 2006) and Australian Dairy Farmers (2005 – 2006). Prior to her appointment to the board of Southern Rural Water, she was a member of the Southern Groundwater and  Rivers Forum, a customer consultative committee of SRW. Mrs Pye has a Diploma of Teaching and an Advanced Diploma of Agriculture; she is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mrs Pye was appointed to the board on 1 October 2011.


Mr Clinton Rodda

Managing Director

Mr Rodda joined Southern Rural Water in 2005 after spending 17 years in the utilities sector and 10 years in management consulting. He has previously held senior management roles with Energy Brix and Eastern Area Power Grid, and has worked nationally and internationally as a consultant. He holds a Bachelor of Business, a Master of Business Administration, and a Diploma in Ontological Coaching and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Rodda was appointed Managing Director on 4 July 2009 and reappointed in March 2014 for a further five years effective from July 2014.

The Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning provide a governance framework for the water industry to assist directors, executives and staff.

Keep up to date and subscribe now

If you would like to receive newsletters from Southern Rural Water, please sign up here.