Select Page

Rosters and Restrictions

When river, creek and groundwater levels drop, Southern Rural Water often has to introduce rosters, restrictions or bans to ensure a fair distribution of available water to all licence holders.

See below for details of current local management rules and roster hotlines:

Gippsland River System Area and Hotlines


Incorporating river systems: Avon River – Section 1, Avon River – Section 2, 3A and 3B, Valencia Creek
Roster hotline: 1300 654 043


Incorporating river systems: Latrobe River – Lower, Latrobe – Upper, Moe River, Morwell River, Narracan Creek, Traralgon Creek
Roster hotline: 1300 654 062


Incorporating river systems: Dargo River, Mitchell River, Wonnangatta River
Roster hotline: 1300 723 294


Incorporating river systems: Tambo River – Lower, Tambo River – Upper
Roster hotline: 1300 723 294


Incorporating river systems: Buchan River, Snowy River
Roster hotline: 1300 723 294

East Gippsland

Incorporating river systems: Cann River
Roster hotline: 1300 723 294

South Gippsland

Incorporating river systems: Agnes River, Albert/Jack River, Bruthen River, Franklin River, Merrimans Creek, Tarra River, Tarwin River
Roster hotline: NA

South West Victoria River System Area and Hotlines


Incorporating river systems: Barwon River – Zone A, Barwon River – Zone B, Barwon River – Zone C, Leigh River/Yaroween River Roster hotline: 1300 656 020


Incorporating river systems: Glenelg River, Wannon River, Grange Burn River, Crawford River Roster hotline: NA


Incorporating river systems: Hopkins River
Roster hotline: 1300 365 607

Mount Emu Creek

Incorporating river systems: Mount Emu Creek, Brucknell (Cudgee) Creek, Merri River Zone 1, Merri River Zone 2
Roster hotline: 1300 365 607


Incorporating river systems: Moorabool River – Above Bungal, Moorabool River – Below Bungal
Roster hotline: 1300 656 020


Incorporating river systems: Curdies Riverm Gellibrand River
Roster hotline: NA


Incorporating river systems: Moyne River, Eumeralla River, Surry River, Fitzroy River, Darlots Creek
Roster hotline: NA

Westernport and Port Phillip River System Area

Note that some rivers in this region are controlled by Melbourne Water.


Incorporating river systems: Bunyip/Tarago River, Lang Lang River, Dandenong Creek, Yakkock Creek


Incorporating river systems: Jacksons Creek, Deep Creek, Riddells Creek, Barringo Creek, Bolinda Creek, Turitable Creek, Willimigongon Creek, Emu Creek, Monument Creek, Number 3 Creek, Konagaderra Creek, 5 Mile Creek, Main Creek


Incorporating river systems: Upper Werribee River, Lerderderg River

Rules and Regulations

All water users should be aware of Victoria’s water rules, which include conditions on your licence, The Water Act 1989 and any Local Management Plans.

These plans identify ways that Southern Rural Water will manage restrictions, rosters and diversion limits.

To enable our customers to plan winter irrigation requirements in conjunction with Southern Rural Water’s winter maintenance activities, please click below for details of the winter irrigation roster for your district.

Werribee Winter Irrigation Roster

Bacchus Marsh Winter Irrigation Roster

Southern Rural Water acknowledges and recognises Aboriginal people as the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the land and waters on which we work and live, and we respect their deep and ongoing connection to Country. For more about the First Nations peoples on whose Country we work, click here.